Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (15) - TV Shows (3)

Frankenweenie review

Posted : 5 years ago on 6 October 2012 11:20 (A review of Frankenweenie)

Going into watching Frankenweenie, I was expecting it to be a decent stop motion film, but I did not expect iti to be as good as it was. It pays homage to the classic horror films of yester year, illustrating Burton's passion for them, while adding a lot of heart and insight in to a child's yearning for companionship. Striking visuals and a very witty script make this a must see.

A-


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Last Resort review

Posted : 5 years ago on 5 October 2012 04:00 (A review of Last Resort)

After finally seeing the much hyped premiere of Last Resort, I say it's a good, not great show. It has a great premise, and a wonderfully talented cast, but it felt like they cut a lot out, leaving it feeling a bit disjointed. If they can work on their pacing, than we could have a great show on our hands.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Elementary review

Posted : 5 years ago on 5 October 2012 01:04 (A review of Elementary)

After two episodes of the new CBS Drama, I'm ready to declare it a winner. While I do think that there are various areas that need slight improvement, I've enjoyed it more than any of the other new shows of the 2012-2013 television season. The leads are quite good, with Johnny Lee Miller giving what may be the most grounded performance of the legendary literary sleuth we've seen yet, and Lucy Lui plays off of him very well as Dr. Watson. No, it's not as good as the BBC version, but it's different enough to make it exciting and interesting.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

2012 MTV Movie Awards review

Posted : 5 years ago on 28 September 2012 08:07 (A review of 2012 MTV Movie Awards)

First, I'll start with the best movie winner, The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part I. Now, I don't hate the film like most or love like many, but when it's up against 4 films that are vastly superior, COME ON! Bridesmaids, The Hunger Games, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, and The Help are all vastly superior, though in comparison with the last few years' competetors their okay. Then, we get to Russell Brand, who shits up the stage in an incredibly hard to watch hosting gig. He didn't even make jokes, he just blurted out celebrities and topics in the news.

PURE SHIT!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Batman & Robin review

Posted : 5 years ago on 28 September 2012 01:22 (A review of Batman & Robin)

When I was young, I was actually a fan of this film. I'm guessing that it was all of the neon lights and Ahhnuld's one-liners. Hell, I remember having nightmares about Mr. Freeze. Damn, was I a dumbass! Watching this now, I can't help but laugh at it. The shitty dialogue, the turd-freeing-from-the-ass acting, and of course, who can forget those motherfucking nipples.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Bourne Legacy review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 16 August 2012 04:57 (A review of The Bourne Legacy)

The original Bourne franchise re-invented the genre of spy movies, even prompting 007 to step it up a notch. It was announced a couple of years ago that the franchise would live on, even though Matt Damon and Paul Greengrass would not be involved, leaving Universal to fill the void. After a lot of discussion and manuvering, a.k.a money, they persuaded the trilogy's writer Tony Gilroy to both write and direct a new Bourne film that would focus on a new character to be played by Jeremy Renner. The main concern to most of the fans of the franchise was whether or not it would be good enough to fit in with, excuse the pun, the "Bourne Legacy." So, does it?

No, not really. Not to say this is a bad film, because it isn't, I'm simply saying that it doesn't live up to any of the original's films. While many complain it starts up too slow, I actually enjoyed the build up. I thought that it was the perfect way to set up the new characters while tying them to the situations of "The Bourne Ultimatum." The second heats up, and the scene in Shearing's house is very thrilling and that leads to the big chase in Minila, and then it just ends. That's when Gilroy and Co. drop the ball, a great beginning and middle, and no real ending. Nothing is wrapped up, no character resolution, and no point. I remember sitting in my seat, and when the Moby came, I looked at the person sitting next to me and said, "Really, is that it?" The cast is great, even though Edward Norton's villian is essentially missing for the better part of the last hour.

The worst part here is that feeling you get that tells you that this film was simply made to have a sequel, one that I would be willing to see if simply to see a proper resolution to the plot. Jeremy Renney makes for a good lead, but Aaron Cross really doesn't stack up to Jason Bourne, and Gilroy's direction doesn't have the pulsating grittiness that elevated Greengrass's films. Maybe we'll get lucky and Damon & Greengrass will come back, because if this film's ending is any indication, they are desperately needed.

GRADE: B-


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Room review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 9 August 2012 06:45 (A review of The Room)

"Gone with the Wind", "Lawrence of Arabia", "The Lord of the Rings Trilogy", and "Dr. Zhivago." What do all of these things have in common? They're all films with a magnificently epic scope, however none of them can really come anywhere close to the granduer ofTommy Wiseau's seminal master, "The Room."


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Jack and Jill review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 9 August 2012 06:04 (A review of Jack and Jill)

I'll give it 1 star, simply because this website does not allow 0. When you make a movie, and call yourself a comedian, at least try to put a laugh in there every once in a while, instead of making every single line of dialogue have a dollar sign hovering over it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 1 2Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block